RSS

My Topic and Five Potential Sources

22 Jan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cindy Solis

Stacy Hartlage Taylor

ENG 102

22 January 2012

My Topic and Five Potential Sources

   When I saw for the first time the topic of this semester class I got so excited.  To be very honest I don’t know anything about the Wild West, but this topic is so interesting to learn about that I know it is going to be a great class.

After looking at all the great personalities of all the legends of the Wild West, I decided to write about Loreta Janeta Velazquez. Her bibliography and all the things she did are full of courage and excitement. I think that writing about her it going to be an easy and interesting thing to do.

I love the fact that she was a strong woman who decided to do something radical to pursuit her believes and plans. She wanted it to be part in the Civil War, so she dressed as a Confederate soldier and fought in battle many times.

Then when I started the research about her it was very easy to find good and reliable sources.

1-      The first one I found was of course Wikipedia. I choose this website/encyclopedia because is a very useful, reliable and educational site.

-          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loreta_Janeta_Velazquez

2-      The second source that I found was an educational organization dedicated to support the education about the history of the Civil War. I think the credentials of this institution make the information they provide useful and appropriate.

-          http://www.civilwar.org/education/history/biographies/loreta-janeta-velazquez.html

3-      After that, I found an article in a website call History.net. This article was originally published in the Civil War Times magazine in the year 1999, but it was revised and updated in the year 2011.

-          http://www.historynet.com/madame-loreta-janeta-velazquez-heroine-or-hoaxer.htm

4-      Then I got a website with documents about the civil war in the American South. I choose this one because the information is intended to documenting the history of the Civil War.

-          http://docsouth.unc.edu/fpn/velazquez/summary.html

5-      Then at last I found About.com Women’s History.  The information in this website is clear and easy to understand.

-          http://womenshistory.about.com/od/civilwar/p/loretavelazquez.htm

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “My Topic and Five Potential Sources

  1. Lindsay

    January 28, 2012 at 2:03 am

    Wow! You have already found a lot of neat information on your person of choice. Ms. Velazquez definitely sounds like she led a very adventurous and courageous life. I can’t wait to read more about it. Best of luck!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

