RSS

Looking Desperately for Inspiration

28 Jan

 

 

 

 

 

Writing this paper has been a challenge. I really thought it was going to be a lot easier. I guess the hardest part has been to be able to find the inspiration to write. As some of my classmates point out my paper needs a lot more writing, but it seems that I haven’t be able to find the words or the time for it.  I like one of the comments; it was very useful and gave me details about things I have to fix. But the other one was not to nice “at least I feel like it was”.

I know I have to work on my paper a lot more and I think I have good sources with a lot of information. My plan is to work on it this weekend and take to be revising at the writing center on Monday.

So hopefully it will be great and long enough.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Looking Desperately for Inspiration

  1. reneevroberts

    January 29, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Hang in there Cindy! I’m sending good writing vibes your way! It isn’t easy to sit and write especially when our lives are filled with many distractions. And talk about the pressures of a deadline! But you will get there, just trust that you will.

    Here is a few helpful tips that work for me. First, I read the source information and make notes on the things that stand out and that I find beneficial. Almost like an outline. Don’t worry about the “Wow” paragraph and the thesis statement. Save that to after the bulk of your paper is written. Second, just start writing, doesn’t matter if it makes sense at first and the transition sentences are rough or absent. You’ll go back and fill it in after. Just write and then write some more. You will be surprised at how quickly the pages fill up. Third, time to clean up. read what you have wrote, delete out the repeated information (I always have a repeat somewhere) and start to connect the dots so to speak. After you do an initial clean up ask yourself one question, “What strikes me as special about this person and their life?” Now use that to fashion your thesis statement and the hook in your opening paragraph. Then go back to the end and tie that ever important thesis statement into your conclusion. Re-read again and have someone else read it for flow and to catch those sneaky little grammical errors and misspellings. Don’t forget the Works Cited and MLA Formatt! That could be a costly mistake! Read the information Professor Stacy has given us and consult the Purdue Owl too. Here is the URL: http://owl.english.purdue.edu/
    Save this to your favorites because it will be a handy resource in the forthcoming essays and in other classes as well.

    I have faith in you CIndy! Looking forward to an awesome paper to read!

    Renee Roberts

     
  2. crandolph1

    February 2, 2012 at 7:12 pm

    Hi, Cindy!
    I am hoping by the time you receive my comment to your post that you have had a chance to visit The Writing Center. Because I live in another part of Kentucky, I emailed my essay to them, and I received a wonderful response from them with some very helpful suggestions. I thought I was a decent writer, but I have to honestly admit to myself that I am not. This has been a tough but eye-opening learning opportunity for me.
    If I can help you in anyway, please let me know!
    -Caroline

     

Leave a Reply

 
