RSS

Essay 2: Persuasive Writing

12 Feb

Well now is time to start a new essay. Reading all the requirements, I have to say that I am a little worry because I’m not from this country and I honestly don’t know a lot of American History. This means that I am going to have to do a big research and a lot of reading for this one. At the same time I am very excited about the idea of learning new information about this country because I am in the process of becoming a U.S. Citizen, so it is very important for me to learn as much as I can about my new country.  After reading all the material for this essay I feel a little overwhelm with all the little details of this project, but at least I know that I have a very detail guide of what I have to do.

After reading all the material for essay two, I learned that in persuasive writing it is very important to have a good introduction that supports the argument of my thesis statement.  Also that in order to develop a good argument I need to know a lot about my topic so I can use solid arguments that support my claims.

The research about my topic should be based on reliable and credible information and it should avoid logical fallacies like hasty generalization where the writer rushes to a conclusion before he has all the facts.

The topics that I am thinking of writing about are:

–          The Mexican American War.

–          Mexican Americans.

I have to be honest and say that I really don’t know anything about these topics, but I am hoping that I will find a lot of information about them. I really don’t know yet what can I persuade the reader about on these two topics, but I am thinking that I can say something from the Mexican point of view about them. I have a lot of Mexicans friends and I think I can get a few opinions.

I am expecting this essay to be great and I wish everybody good luck on this new challenge!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Essay 2: Persuasive Writing

  1. christinesalleng

    February 19, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Hey Cindy! I know there is a lot of information on the Mexican American War out there. It would be a great topic. It might be easier to come up with a thesis and prove it than just Mexican Americans in general but I am sure you will do great either way. Best wishes!
    Christine

     

Leave a Reply

 
